December 12th, 2011

The Right Honourable Stephen Harper Prime Minister of Canada 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A2

Dear Prime Minister:

We are writing on behalf of Canadian businesses to express our support for Canada entering into consultations toward joining the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) negotiations.

Joining the TPP is critical as it is becoming the main trade liberalization instrument for the Asia Pacific region. Strategically strengthening Canada's trade and investment relationship with this region is a priority for Canadian businesses in light of the region's growing economic importance. Moreover, through the TPP Canada could further advance its interests to ensure rules-based trade.

As your government intensifies its discussions with the original nine parties to the negotiations, we encourage you to signal Canada's willingness to table ambitious and comprehensive offers that promote Canada's best economic interests.

As Canada negotiates its accession to the TPP and assuming we become a party to the negotiations, you can rely on our organizations to engage the Canadian business community and work with Canada's negotiating team to ensure the TPP leads to a net increase in Canada's exports of domestically produced goods and services, as well as higher levels of production, investment and employment in Canada.

From a strategic perspective, we also suggest that the government consult closely with our NAFTA partners to leverage each other's presence at the negotiating table when our interests converge, and ultimately achieve an outcome that reflects our common trade and economic priorities. Moreover, please note that we can engage Canadian business allies in the TPP region such as Canadian companies present in these markets, their suppliers and customers to voice their support for Canada joining the TPP as it is in our trading partners' best interests.

We thank you for your leadership on this issue and look forward to continuing to work with you and your government to create a more prosperous Canada.

Sincerely,

Jayson Myers President & CEO Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters

James Quick President & CEO Aerospace Industries Association of Canada

Jerry Engel President AMC-Agricultural Manufacturers of Canada

Doug Sawyer Chair Alberta Beef Producers

Rick Tachuk National Vice-President & Policy Chair AMCHAM Canada

T. Howard Mains Canadian Public Policy Advisor Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM)

Edouard Asnong Chair Canada Pork International

Kathleen Sullivan Executive Director Canadian Agri-food Trade Alliance

Matt Sawyer Chairman Alberta Barley Commission

Doug Price Chairman Alberta Cattle Feeders' Association

on Wester

Jan Westcott President/CEO Association of Canadian Distillers

Peter A. Brenders President & CEO BIOTECanada

ussell le dol

Russell Williams President Canada's Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies (Rx&D)

Dave Collyer President Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers

Jay Nordenstrom Executive Director Canadian Association of Railway Suppliers

Travis Toews President Canadian Cattlemen's Association

Murray Abramovitch President Canadian Die Casters Association

IO N. Seyla

David N. Seyler President Canadian Foundry Association

Ed Whelan, P.Eng. President Canadian Institute of Steel Construction

Jurgen Preugschas Chair Canadian Pork Council

Hickord Whit

Rick White General Manager Canadian Canola Growers Association

Sharren/Combs

Shannon Coombs President Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association

Roger Larson President Canadian Fertilizer Institute

Jim Keon President Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association

Jim Laws Executive Director Canadian Meat Council

1. her -

Ron Watkins President Canadian Steel Producers' Association

Marsch

Sandra Marsden President Canadian Sugar Institute

Don E. Moore Executive Director Canadian Transportation Equipment Association

Anthony Ariganello, CPA (DE), FCGA President and Chief Executive Officer Certified General Accountants



Jim Taggart President/CEO Electro-Federation Canada

lency &

Nancy Croitoru President and Chief Executive Officer Food & Consumer Products of Canada

Richard Phillips Executive Director Grain Growers of Canada

Emerson Suphal President Canadian Tooling & Machining Association

pite

JoAnne Buth President Canola Council of Canada

RIRer

Richard Paton President and CEO Chemistry Industry Association of Canada

Chris Dekker Chief Executive Officer Enterprise Saskatchewan

Avrim Lazar President Forest Products Association of Canada

Anto

Wayne K. Bassett Chairman, Canadian Council Metals Service Center Institute

Bill Jameson Chairman National Cattle Feeders' Association

otheril

Jaselle

Lionel Labelle President and CEO Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership

Wade Sobkowich Executive Director Western Grain Elevator Association

Cc: The Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade